Followed a note that was published by David F. Prenatt, Jr. aka meta editor netesq posted on the XODP Yahoo group on December 18, 2004 12:03 PM: visited http://www.corruptdmozeditor.com/ Corrupt DMOZ Editor and had a good laugh.
It's written with Google's blogger.com, started December 02, 2004 by someone called "Ana Thema", profile gives no extra info. The About text states: "A ransom note to those who are still waiting to get into DMOZ". The meta description talks about a "DMOZ Pay For Inclusion Express Submission Store" and the keywords follow that idea. The site is hosted on its own IP 66.172.90.222 by Sunwave Communications, who offer affordable hosting and promises reliability, performance, ease of use, maybe a reseller of Cogent Communications ( cogentco.com ). As I expected the domain name was registered through Domains by Proxy, Inc., Scottsdale, Arizona 85260, a company that specializes to get you domain names and keep your name secret.
There are currently only six posts there, last one December 03, giving practical advice like "How to Bribe a DMOZ Editor" or "Three Tips for a Successful DMOZ Submission".
I'm sure there will be people who follow these advices and expect some nice rumours going round.
The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for the content. Only registered members may comment on articles.
XODP Yahoo group
Written on 12/19/04 at 15:26:36 GMT by Norbert
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/xodp/ xodp: A Think Tank and Free Speech Forum. A think tank and free speech forum for progressive ideas about how the Internet should be indexed, ...
Trizia, are you "[t]hrow[ing] one-way inbounds" ? Already ?
And how do you propose to make a Web site anon ? Just using the services of Domains by Proxy ?
no inbounds
Written on 12/31/04 at 18:36:15 GMT by mbu
Throwing one-way inbound links ? No, stupid.
On 19th December 2004 "KC" ( kctipton007 at sbcglobal.net ) wrote in reply to David F. Prenatt's post of 18th: "I think it's a fake. The author will have to do better (meaning, give us facts and not accusations) if he/she wants to convince us that the truth is being told."
http://www.socengine.com/ SOCEngine.com US and Canada Web directory, professional editors, rates usability, download speed, and content quality.
More links to the blog found here: http://www.aardvarkbusiness.net/chat/viewtopic.php?t=2643 in a thread in AardvarkBusiness.net's Web Marketing Forum titled "Corruption on the web ..." a new member friendorfoe (joined: 05 Dec 2004) posted Sun Dec 05, 2004 "Corrupt Dmoz Editor Apparently Spilling the Beans [...] Any thoughts? " While friendorfoe just used the thread, rubrum from the thread: "... couple of hundred seems reasonable to me" "Corruption happens, face it, deal with it, live with it, utilise it." "... if they don't police their own system it's their own fault."
Interesting the post on http://www.werty.net/ "A mid 20's Chicago artist struggling between the business and art world. Trying to find my identity and keep my sanity."
This site was made with WebAPP Web Automated Perl Portal systemv0.9.9.9 RC4 , a web portal system written in Perl.
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners. Comments are owned by the Poster.