Occasionally I will see a search using the keyword "referrers".
Well this evening, upon checking our live referrer links list, I see a new visitor with 73 visits to the home page - more than any other single referrer to date. So I copy the URL into a new browser window with popup blocker ready to go and gingerly visit the site to see what is up. There I find a set of pages, SiteLibrary home page included, loaded into a series of iframes. Something similar to "The Referrer" site at Blogspot if you may have seen that, but not as creatively designed. The page was refreshing every minute, giving us a page load a minute while anybody would have that page open.
So I took a few steps and am rid of them for now.
Put javascript to break out of frames on the home page.
Change title and some of the text of referrers page to get rid of some of those keywords which are so very attractive to some people.
Wrote the URL of the site in the hide list for the referrers script.
Still planned - track down their IP if possible and ban it from our site.
The site title appeared as "hi", and the URL was www.thespear.net/frame/. Other sites that were loading in their little frames: www.space-planets.com/test.php www.develnet.org htgracing.com littlegreenfootballs.com www.bluesock.org/~willg/blog/ www.oddballin.com www.szewo.com/php/referer/
All ending with a cute little note - "allright. there we go. backlinks! yah."
At the moment, if you go there, you will find SiteLibrary popping out of their frames.
The IP number is in the same ARIN NetRange and very close to one of the other main ones from before with the Blogspot referrers.
One of the other sites
Written on 03/21/04 at 06:00:40 GMT by Jos
Space Planets is our top referrer for March with 47 hits. I don't know what that's all about. 47 hits in an hour or so is a lot?
Owner
Written on 03/21/04 at 08:38:12 GMT by Jos
The same guy owns ODDBALLIN.COM and THESPEAR.NET and apparently helped with setting up SPACE-PLANETS.COM. Other than those three, the rest seem to be innocent victims. A visit to their referrers pages will show space-planets as referring a lot of visitors. I think with SiteLibrary busting the frame open, it might stop the troubles for the others until they take us off the page.
Edit 3/22: I got an email back from Mr. Bawn of BawnWeb - "I have never hosted thespear.net -- his web host made him remove his link to me however." So that was a fake link on the page. The link to the Olympia Web Design company has now been removed from thespear.net.
Olympia Web Design seems like a nice site.
we're free
Written on 03/22/04 at 21:17:31 GMT by Jos
I see today they took us out of their frames and found some new victims. So it is possible again to look at their little set of frames "referrers" sites.
They have removed the link to their host from their front page, and their host has removed them from the list of sites they host also.
www.thespear.net if you are curious.
never mind
Written on 03/23/04 at 01:01:40 GMT by Jos
The frames page is gone now. Hopefully that will be the end of it.
This site was made with WebAPP Web Automated Perl Portal systemv0.9.9.9 RC4 , a web portal system written in Perl.
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners. Comments are owned by the Poster.